M. Patrick Gillin Hall

From UNB Archives and Special Collections
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Building Name: M. Patrick Gillin Hall

Students walk in front of Gillin Hall, 1988. PR; Series 2; Sub-series 2; File 396; Item 1. Photo credit: Joy Cummings-Dickenson.

Other Names: Gillin Hall

Civic Address: 540 Windsor Street

Sod Turning: Unknown

Cornerstone Laying: Unknown

Opened for Use: July 1988

Official Opening: 10 June 1989

Architect: ADI Ltd.

Named for: Mark Patrick Gillin, UNB graduate (BScCE '49, DSc '81), a member of the UNB Board of Governors, awarded title of governor emeritus in 2001. Gillan was the head of Gillin Engineering and Construction Ltd. and was a major benefactor to UNB, establishing engineering scholarships and bursaries and named the M. Patrick Gillin Chair in Construction Engineering.

Renovations/changes/additions: N/A

Notes: Gillin Hall was built as an addition to Head Hall, the engineering complex. The five-storey building contains office space, classrooms, and laboratories for the engineering and computer science faculties.

Named Spaces: Professor Uday Gujar Lecture Room (C127), This room honours the memory of Professor Uday Gujar, born in India, and coming to UNB in 1969 as a programmer analyst with the computing centre and accepted a faculty appointment in 1974 in the new school of computer science. Gujar made significant contributions to the development of computer science at UNB and throughout the 1990s he served as assistant dean of undergraduates, director of graduate studies, and acting dean.

The Honeywell Control and Instrumentation Laboratory (D123), Funds were donated to the electrical engineering department by Honeywell for new equipment in the lab in 1997.


  • Montague, Susan. The Pictorial History of the University of New Brunswick. Fredericton, NB: University of New Brunswick, c1992, p. 267.
  • UA Case 123; Section 3; Gillin Hall
  • UNB Perspectives, [M. Patrick Gillin: Ambitions Found.]
  • Alumni Clippings - Large

© UNB Archives & Special Collections, 2014